Important! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it. Learn more

I understand


la inspiracinIn Works there is complete information on Joaquín Rodrigo's entire production, classified according to the type of composition and containing a short musical fragment of each work.


La Música Imaginada - a musical story in Torrelodones

CARTEL CONCIERTO JOAQUIN RODRIGO The life and works of Joaquín Rodrigo under the title:

La Música Imaginada, story with narrator and musicians.

Children’s show for the entire family on the life of Joaquín Rodrigo.

TEATRO BULEVAR, Torrelodones, Madrid.
Saturday, February 6, 18:00 h.

Don’t miss it!

Presented by the Escuela Popular de Música y Danza.


On the 400th anniversary in 2016 of the death of Cervantes, we recall that Joaquín Rodrigo composed the symphonic poem Ausencias de Dulcinea in 1948 for the 400th anniversary of the writer’s birth.

It is based on the poem "Trees, herbs and plants" which Don Quijote wrote while he was in the Sierra Morena doing penance in order to be more deserving of the love of his Dulcinea "Dulcinea del Toboso". 

In the words of the composer:
"I decided to make use of four voices surrounding that of Don Quijote and thus establish the contrasts between knighthood, all that is idealized, and the burlesque. While Don Quijote sings always in all seriousness, the orchestra marks the humourous side, and thus the total spirit of the poetry comes through. The moving words "It is here that Don Quijote wept for the absence of Dulcinea" lead immediately to the voices of the four soprano soloists, who symbolize the vain illusion that the figure of his lover will always be for the knight. The extraordinary use of no less than four sopranos in the work is explained by the fact that no where - north, south, east or west - will Don Quijote ever find that phantom which is his Dulcinea."


About us  -  Legal text  -  Shop  -  Contact form